Sharath Kamal Turns into First Indian To Be Elected In ITTF’s Athletes Fee | Desk Tennis Information


Star Indian paddler Achanta Sharath Kamal has develop into the primary participant from the nation to get elected within the Athletes’ Fee of the Worldwide Desk Tennis Federation (ITTF). Eight athletes (4 male and as many feminine) have been elected from Asia, Africa, the Americas, Europe, and Oceania and can serve within the Athletes’ Fee for 4 years from 2022 to 2026. The ace paddler from obtained 187 votes, the second-highest quantity, behind Elizabeta Samara of Romania, who obtained 212 votes, the distinction of a mere 8.83 per cent votes polled from their continents — Asia and Europe — respectively.

Speaking of the worldwide honour, Sharath, a a number of Commonwealth Video games medallist, felt humbled and blissful to know that he obtained the best variety of votes from Asia, forward of different candidates from the continent.

Liu Shiwen, elected from the feminine quota, is the opposite Asian on the Fee, however the Chinese language managed solely 153 votes.

“I’m greatly surprised and humbled by the popularity. I thank the entire of Asia and all of the voters for showering such affection with religion and the CoA (Committee of Directors) for forwarding my identify to ITTF,” stated Sharath in a launch issued by Desk Tennis Federation of India (TTFI).

Within the November 7 to 13 polling, 283 athletes voted to elect eight candidates from totally different areas, indicating a rise of 18 per cent, in comparison with 240 in 2018, and the rising reputation and relevance of the Fee.

Apart from the eight athletes, two para-athletes may also serve the four-year time period.

See also  T20 World Cup 2022, Tremendous 12 Group 1, Afghanistan vs Eire Reside Rating Updates: Toss Delayed Due To Rain In Melbourne | Cricket Information

Sharath shall be honoured with the Main Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award, the nation’s highest sports activities recognition, later this month.

The 40-year-old can be the vice-chairman of the Athletes’ Fee of the Indian Olympic Affiliation (IOA). He is among the 10 eminent athletes elected a few days in the past to the nationwide Olympic physique that goes to polls subsequent month.

Elected Athletes: Elizabeta Samara (ROU), Achanta Sharath Kamal (IND), Daniely Rios (PUR), Omar Assar (EGY), Melissa Tapper (AUS), Stefan Fegerl (AUT), Jon Persson (SWE), and Liu Shiwen (CHN).

Elected Para-Athletes: Ingela Lundback (SWE) and Kelly van Zon (NED).

(This story has not been edited by Dailynews369 employees and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Matters talked about on this article